Brutal Music (2010)

fl cl perc pno vln vla vc cb
duration 12:00

I. screaming music
II. beating music
III. chasing music
IV. poison music
V. death music
VI. pavane for a dead infant
VII. brutal music
VIII. burning music

Brutal Music is a suite of incidental music from the chamber opera Voir Dire (2010).

The main narrative of the opera follows the trial of a sixteen-year-old boy who is on trial for his mother's brutal murder. Seven of the movements of Brutal Music musically develop aspects of this crime.

The remaining movement of Brutal Music, “pavane for a dead infant,” occurs early in the opera, after a tragic account of domestic abuse resulting in a traumatic miscarriage.



premiere: St. Olaf College (Northfield, MN), October 20 2011