Matthew Peterson's "And all the trees of the field will clap their hands" will be featured alongside nine other new works, as the Swedish Composer's Association (FST) and Swedish Royal Musical Academy (KMA) present the second annual "Presentation day for new Swedish Orchestra Music."

This year at the newly built concert hall Malmö Live, with the Malmö Symphony Orchestra. June 2, 2016 they will perform 10 short works/excerpts for an invited public of conductors and music administrators, with the goal of enriching the Swedish orchestral repertoire.

There was great interest from both composers and orchestras. From 58 submitted works, a committee of two composers and two conductors have chosen the following: 

  • Anders Emilsson (f 1963) A ride into the wood
  • Kim Hedås (f 1965) RE:CAI:O
  • Daniel Hjorth (f 1973) SYMPHONY no 1 – ”Time Changes”
  • Reine Jönsson (f 1960) Den sorgsna vargen
  • Maria Lithell Flyg (f 1965) In and Out
  • Anna-Lena Laurin (f 1962) Persephone. Version II. For symphony orchestra
  • David Lennartsson (f 1973) Waves - a beautiful noise / wafted across
  • Jim O’Leary (f 1971) Sixty-three
  • Matthew Peterson (f 1984) And all the trees of the field will clap their hands
  • Jonas Valfridsson (f 1980) Temples of Kamakura – sats I. Engaku-ji

The chosen works were composed between 2006 and 2015, and will be performed in their entirety or 5-7 minute excerpts, conducted by Andreas Hanson. The goal of the project is to spread knowledge of newly written repertoire to the programming teams at Swedish music institutions, therefore exposing the Swedish citizenry to a greater musical diversity. 

2016's jury consisted of:

  • Michael Bartosch, conductor
  • Katarina Leyman, composer
  • Rolf Martinsson, composer
  • Marit Strindlund, conductor